It is thought that the name Kickerbell is likely derived from the Aboriginal name for the area. With acres of grounds and historic buildings, the Little Kickerbell homestead dates back to the 1820s when John Blaxland, elder brother of the explorer Gregory Blaxland, settled on the land. With the help of convicts, he established a grazing property. The 1830s stone coach house, and another stone building (possibly a schoolhouse) remain as evidence of his colonization.
The current configuration of accommodation at Little Kickerbell was established in 1927, when the chapel, store, forge, and other buildings were demolished. A generous verandah and simplified rooflines redefined the appearance of the homestead, expanding the kitchen and maid’s quarters, adding a foyer, lounge room, dining room, breakfast room, bathrooms, and a new five-bedroom wing. By retaining a 12-foot ceiling height throughout, the design cleverly embraced existing rooms, most notably the 1870s billiard room that still houses the original Alcock & Co. table.
Today, the restored homestead and outbuildings present a visible history of a past way of life, preserving unique country architecture as evidence of work, leisure, and comfort in a time when Australia’s prosperity was dependent on wool.